top of page

My literary agent is a slave driver Part 2

Things Change. That is one thing you can count on. I found that out while delivering copies of "Hit the Knee" to my doctors.

After seeing Dr. Fitzpatrick, (See Part 1), I was frustrated that I could not see Dr. Parks, my Cardiologist and his Nurse Practitioner, Barbara. I decided to cross over to the hospital and take a stroll through Cardiac Intensive Care on the chance that I might see them.

To my surprise I ran into my surgeon's nurse, Margie. I told her what I was doing there and she offered to take me to where she had last seen Barbara. Barbara is friendly, outgoing, and attractive. I have known her for over fifteen years. As we walked down the hall Margie asked me, "Did you know that Dr. Parks and Barbara got married?" I said "UH OH!" "What's wrong?", she asked. I handed her Barbara's copy of the book, (You might remember that I pre-signed the books and included a personal note to each person.), and showed her the inscription I had written. It said:

Barbara,

Thank you for giving me such good care over the years. I always enjoy seeing you. You are the only medical professional I have that I can flirt with.

Best Wishes,

Dennis

As I said, things change.

Margie laughted.

Barbara was surprised to see me and asked what I was doing there. I congratulated her on her marriage and told her I had written a book and brought her a copy. Margie spoke up, "Tell her about the inscription." I handed Barbara the book and said, "I'll just let her read it for herself." When she finished reading she laughted out loud and said, "Don't worry about Michael, you can still flirt with me." We all had a good laugh and I gave Margie a book as well and said goodbye.

On th way out I met Dr. Parks briefly. I told him I had left him a copy of my book with Barbara. I did not mention the inscription.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page