top of page

My literary agent is a slave driver. Part 1

She is also my wife.

For several days she reminded me of a list of people I should contact about my book.

One thing that I have looked forward to is presenting my doctors and some of their staff with copies of my book. I pre-signed five of the books and put them in manila envelops with the recipients name on the outside. I wrote a personal note to each of them thanking them for the care they have given me.

Tuesday, I used my lunch hour to drive to Birmingham to St. Vincent’s Hospital. When I went into my Cardiologist’s office I was disappointed to find out that Dr. Parks, and the others that I wanted to see were not in.

I had better luck with Dr. Fitzpatrick, my Internist. He was due to return from lunch in the next few minutes, so I took a seat in the waiting room with a view to the hallway. My intention was to intercept him on his way in, say hello and give him the book. I know that doctors have busy schedules and hundreds of patients, and seeing them once a year for a check-up I do not expect them to recognize me on sight. He came down the hall at a brisk pace, obviously a man on a mission. When he saw me sitting in the waiting area he slowed a bit, waved and rhetorically greeted me with a “Hi, how are you.” I waved back but before I could say any thing he gestured to someone down the hall and said “give me just a minute” and hurried into his office.

Like I said, Doctors are busy people. I went to the front desk where his very sweet receptionist asked “did you miss him?” I said “yes, he was in a hurry.” She said “he’s running behind and has a Drug Company Rep waiting to see him also. I know, I’ll send him a text and let him know you are here.” She typed something into her cell phone and said that I could wait there at the desk.

I knew that he had already entered an exam room to see a patient, so I leaned against the wall along with the drug co rep and waited. After ten minutes, she gave up, left him some information, and walked out. Not long afterwards Dr. Fitzpatrick came out of the exam room and briskly walked in the opposite direction to his office. I thought “This is just not a good time” and decided to leave the book for him and go on to my next stop, like the drug rep had done.

Suddenly he came out of his office, walking even faster than before to, I assumed, another exam room. Instead, he walked straight to me. He had just read the text message and realized why I was there. I explained to him that I had brought him a copy of the book I had written. He asked “Didn’t you mention this to me at your last check up?” I said yes. He seemed pleased to get the book. He hardily thanked me and apologized for me having to wait. When I told him that I hoped he would enjoy it, he replied “I’m sure I will.” We shook hands and I left his office.

Somehow I had a feeling of accomplishment. Not about my writing, but for acknowledging my Doctor for the care he has given me. The fact that he seemed pleased about that pleased me as well.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page