top of page

Depression breeds poetry

ANCHOR

Nikki

Happily

You are the anchor of my ship

You hold me in the tempest’s brew

You secure me err which way I tip

I do not fear the red dawn’s hue

You keep me in the harbor safe

You stay me from the maelstrom’s reach

You’re there although the gale winds strafe

You protect me from the rocky beach

You aweigh each time I stir to move

You abide the trip held close to me

You are ready should disaster prove

To trek with us over troubled seas

Sadly

I am the anchor of your balloon

I hold you down though you wish to rise

Dreams and time flee so soon

While tethered from such siren skies

I despise the rut in which I stick

I lament the way I hold to it

I long for the day I can break free

Then away we'll soar, sans discontent.

I love you

Dennis

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page